

# **Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting**

#### **Councillors' Forum**

Thursday, 8 June 2023

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

#### **Attendance**

An attendance list is attached as **Appendix A** 

#### Item Decisions and actions

#### 1 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chairman welcomed Members to the Forum.

He exprssed thanks to all members for their work in the LGA year, with special thanks to those who had stood down or not been re-elected in May. In particular:

Lord Gary Porter – Former Chairman of the LGA
David Renard – Former Chairman of the Environment, Economy, Housing
and Transport Board
Peter Fleming – Former Chairman of the Improvement and Innovation
Board

## 2 Chairman's Update

Members noted the Chairman's Update.

### 3 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chairman invited the following Chairs to update on the work of their Boards:

- Children and Young People Board Cllr Louise Gittins
- Community Wellbeing Board Cllr David Fothergill
- Improvement and Innovation Board Cllr Abi Brown

## 4 Digest of the last meeting held on 9 March 2023

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.

#### 5 Presentation on LG Inform and Performance Management

The Chairman invited Juliet Whitworth, Head of Research and Information, to give a <u>presentation</u> on the LG Inform and Performance Management.



LGA Inform is the LGA's online data benchmarking service, designed to help councillors view information about their council easily and quickly. Alongside LG Inform, the LGA runs a data programme to help councils make better use of data.

# The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP - Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

The Chairman welcomed The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP – Secretary of State for Department of Levelling Up, Housing and Communities to the meeting.

The Secretary of State took questions and comments from the room on the following topics:

- Voter ID
- Devolution
- UK Shared Prosperity Fund
- Waste and recycling reform
- Office for Local Government (Oflog)

The Chairman thanked the Secretary of State for his time.



# Appendix A -Attendance

Chairman Vice-Chairman Vice-Chairman Vice-Chairman  CIIr Joe Harris CIIr Joe Harris CIIr Joe Harris CIIr Izzi Seccombe OBE CIIr Izzi Seccombe OBE  Deputy-chairman  Members  CIIr Robert Alden CIIr Jon Ball CIIr Kevin Bentley CIIr Philip Broadhead CIIr Sam Chapman-Allen CIIr Sam Chapman-Allen CIIr Bev Craig CIIr Tudor Evans OBE CIIr Tudor Evans OBE CIIr Danien Greenhalgh CIIr Simon Henig CBE CIIr Susan Hinchcliffe CIIr Susan Hinchcliffe CIIr Susan Hinchcliffe CIIr Shaun Davies CIIr Hedway Council CIIr Hedward March Council CIIr Sam Chapman-Allen CIIr Susan Hinchcliffe CIIr Susan Hinchcliffe CIIr Simon Merry CBE CIIr Joenal Mery CBE CIIr Joenal Merry CBE CIIr William Nunn CIIr Salm Council CIIr Council CIIr Council CIIr Council CIIr Simon Henig CBE CIIr Jones CIIr Jones CIIr Heather Kidd MBE CIIr Jone Maple CIIr William Nunn CIIr William Nunn CIIr Susan Gobs CIIr William Nunn CIIr Goveroid CIIr John Merry CBE CIIr William Nunn CIIr William Nunn CIIr William Nunn CIIr William Nunn Control Council Cotswold District Council Council Council Council Cotswold District Council Counci			
Vice-Chairman CIIr Shaun Davies CIIr Joe Harris Cotswold District Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council North Kesteven District Council  Warwickshire County Council  Deputy-chairman  Members  CIIr Robert Alden CIIr Jon Ball CIIr Kevin Bentley CIIr Philip Broadhead CIIr Abi Brown CIIr Nesil Caliskan CIIr Sam Chapman-Allen CIIr Sam Chapman-Allen CIIr Bev Craig CIIr Hannah Dalton CIIr Tudor Evans OBE CIIr David Fothergill CIIr Louise Gittins CIIr Damien Greenhalgh CIIr Damien Greenhalgh CIIr Georgina Hill CIIr Sissan Hinchcliffe CIIr Susan Hinchcliffe CIIr Anthony Hunt CIIr Brigid Jones CIIr John Merry CBE CIIr Cotswold District Council Council Council Council Council Council Council Cotswold District Council County Council Cou	Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
Deputy-chairman    Members   Cllr Robert Alden   Ealing Council   Ealing Council   Cllr Kevin Bentley   Essex County Council   Cllr Kevin Bentley   Essex County Council   Council   Cllr Philip Broadhead   Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole   Council   Cllr Abi Brown   Stoke-on-Trent City Council   Enfield Council   Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen   Cllr Bev Craig   Manchester City Council   Cllr Hannah Dalton   Epsom and Ewell District Council   Cllr Tudor Evans OBE   Plymouth City Council   Cllr David Fothergill   Somerset County Council   Cllr Louise Gittins   Cheshire West and Chester Council   Cllr Peter Golds CBE   Tower Hamlets Council   High Peak Borough Council   High Peak Borough Council   Cllr Richard Henry   Stevenage Borough Council   Cllr Georgina Hill   Northumberland Council   Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe   Bradford Metropolitan District Council   Cllr Anthony Hunt   Torfaen County Borough Council   Cllr Brigid Jones   Birmingham City Council   Cllr Heather Kidd MBE   Cllr Vince Maple   Medway Council   Medway Council   Cllr John Merry CBE   Salford City Council		Cllr Shaun Davies Cllr Joe Harris Cllr Marianne Overton MBE	Telford and Wrekin Council Cotswold District Council North Kesteven District Council
Cllr Jon Ball Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr Philip Broadhead Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council  Cllr Abi Brown Cllr Nesil Caliskan Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Cllr Bev Craig Manchester City Council Cllr Hannah Dalton Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr David Fothergill Cllr Louise Gittins Cllr Damien Greenhalgh Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Georgina Hill Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr Abi Brown Stoke-on-Trent City Council Enfield Council Enfiel	Deputy-chairman	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	The state of the s
Cllr Tim Oliver Cllr Shabir Pandor Cllr Roger Phillips Cllr Leigh Redman Mayor Marvin Rees Cllr Tony Saffell Cllr Amanda Serjeant Cllr Bridget Smith Cllr Lucy Stephenson Cllr Howard Sykes MBE Baroness Taylor of Surrey County Council Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council Herefordshire Council Somerset County Council North West Leicestershire District Council Chesterfield Borough Council Stevenage Borough Council Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council Stevenage Borough Council Stevenage Borough Council Central Bedfordshire Council	Members	Cllr Jon Ball Cllr Kevin Bentley Cllr Philip Broadhead  Cllr Abi Brown Cllr Nesil Caliskan Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen Cllr Bev Craig Cllr Hannah Dalton Cllr Tudor Evans OBE Cllr David Fothergill Cllr Louise Gittins Cllr Peter Golds CBE Cllr Damien Greenhalgh  Cllr Simon Henig CBE Cllr Richard Henry Cllr Georgina Hill Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe Cllr Anthony Hunt Cllr Brigid Jones Cllr Heather Kidd MBE Cllr Vince Maple Cllr John Merry CBE Cllr William Nunn Cllr Tim Oliver Cllr Shabir Pandor Cllr Roger Phillips Cllr Leigh Redman Mayor Marvin Rees Cllr Tony Saffell Cllr Amanda Serjeant Cllr Bridget Smith Cllr Lucy Stephenson Cllr Howard Sykes MBE Baroness Taylor of Stevenage OBE	Ealing Council Essex County Council Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council Stoke-on-Trent City Council Enfield Council Breckland District Council Manchester City Council Epsom and Ewell District Council Plymouth City Council Somerset County Council Cheshire West and Chester Council Tower Hamlets Council High Peak Borough Council and Derbyshire County Council Durham County Council Stevenage Borough Council Northumberland Council Bradford Metropolitan District Council Torfaen County Borough Council Birmingham City Council Birmingham City Council Shropshire Council Medway Council Salford City Council Surrey County Council Surrey County Council Surrey County Council Siristol City Council North West Leicestershire District Council Chesterfield Borough Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Rutland County Council Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council